top of page


At today’s AGM, Putney Town’s three Olympians were presented with Life Membership of the club. Chairman Geoff Adams presented a commemorative pennant to Joanne Turvey, John Collins and Charlotte Taylor in recognition of their outstanding achievement in the sport of rowing. Life membership is the club’s highest honour.

Jo was coached by club member (now fellow life member) and current masters men’s coach Doug Parnham, winning Pairs Head for the club in 1991. Shortly after, the club was destroyed by fire and Jo moved elsewhere to continue her pursuit of Olympic selection while the club rebuilt. She competed for Great Britain in Barcelona ’92 alongside Miriam Batten, finishing 5th in the women’s pair. Jo later went on to race in the women’s eight at the Atlanta games in 1996.

John learned to row at the club in 2005. Coached initially by Geoff and John Comer, and then Seamus Keating, John furthered his rowing aspirations by moving to Henley to train with Leander and having won the Double Sculls Challenge Cup at Henley Royal Regatta, competed for Great Britain in Rio alongside Jonny Walton, finishing 5th in the double sculls. This September, John and Jonny won Pairs Head rowing as a Putney Town and Leicester RC composite.

Charlotte joined the club in 2010 on the recommendation of her father as a way to meet new people. Coached by club members Tom Evens, Gary Lovejoy and club coach Martin Gough she embarked on a journey through winning Henley Women’s Regatta before breaking into the Great Britain Rowing Team, where she has won silver and gold medals in international regattas, including holding a world best’s time in the light-weight double sculls alongside Kat Copeland. Charlotte won the Olympic trials earlier this year and represented Great Britain alongside Kat in Rio.

Also at the AGM, the prizes were presented for the 2016 Sculling Championships. The overall winner’s trophy was collected by Jamie Diserens on behalf of his brother, Sam, while Sophie Bluff was presented with the women’s trophy. Prizes were also presented to Stephen Rose for winning the MasG/H/I competition and Paul Debois for winning the MasE/F competition. Other winners not present were John Hickling (MasA/B) and Dan Robertson (Novice).

The committee to serve for 2016/17 was also elected:

Chairman: Geoff Adams Secretary: Jade Gowan Treasurer: James Davey Captain: Peter Jones Vice-Captain (men): Joe Shaw Vice-Captain (women): Sophie Bluff Membership secretary: Steve Harding Bar Steward: Sue Pictor Social Secretary: Rachel Dean

Ordinary members: Julie Lewis Larry Eggleton Ewan Maddock


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page